Sector Sponsors Future Teacher

Sector Learning Solutions has been sponsoring a child in Sri Lanka through World Vision since 2005. Kohilavani Selvarasa was born on September 25, 1998 and for the last seven years of our sponsorship, we’ve received annual Progress Reports translated by the sponsorship coordinator.

Our 2011 Progress Report explained that Kohilavani, who is now 14 years old, lives with her mother, four sisters and three brothers.

She is a quiet person who enjoys reading books and participating in drawing activities. Her favourite colour is red and the animal she likes most is the rabbit. In her leisure time, she plays with her friends – especially Elle (pronounced el-lay) which is a traditional Sri Lankan sport similar to baseball.

A Day in Her Life… “Normally I wake up at 6:00 am. Then I get ready to go to school which is 1 km away from my home. I go to school by [foot]. My school starts at 7:30 am and ends at 1:30pm.”

This year she is in the 8th grade. There are 24 students in her class. Her favourite subject is math and her future ambition is to become a teacher.

She had a special message to share with us:

“I can read well now through the evening class. So I am … happy now. Before, I can’t read more clearly. But now, I am getting chances to improve my knowledge.”

“May God bless you. Thank you”

-Kelly Marshall,
Director of Communications,
Sector Learning Solutions

Leave a Reply

