Former Sector Instructor Matching Donations to Mustard Seed Food Bank

Paul Holmes, a good friend and former instructor of Sector Learning Solutions, is now working as a consultant with Investors Group Financial Services Inc. He recently sent an email to our CEO, Gerry Brimacombe, discussing what he had learned from Twitter co-founder Biz Stone at a recent speaking event.

We decided to share this update from Paul’s new life with you, as we found his philanthropy-focused marketing plan for 2013 aligned with our company values and purpose of producing positive change in organizations and the world:

Dear Gerry,

I was excited to hear Biz Stone in person on November 27, as I’ve been an avid Twitter user for about 4 years. Surprisingly, he struck me as a pretty humble, ordinary guy. He talked almost as much about his failures as he did about his successes. Seeming as I’ve been an entrepreneur since I was a teenager, it was refreshing to hear!

One thought that stuck out the most to me, though, was a bold prediction as he wrapped up his talk:

“The future of marketing is philanthropy.” — Biz Stone, November 27, 2012

For those who’ve known me for a while, you know I’m not afraid of hard work, I believe in providing outstanding service, and I’m pretty good at marketing. You will also know that I love giving back to the community.

What you probably don’t know about that last part is that it was a value instilled into me in childhood. Not only has my Father helped found and support important charitable causes my entire life, but there were times in my childhood when we needed some charity, too.  I remember very vividly going to the Mustard Seed Food Bank to get some groceries, because if we didn’t, we’d simply have nothing to eat. I remember those hard times well, and they truly shaped me and my outlook today.

Perhaps it’s this personal experience that made Biz Stone’s message hit me so hard. So I decided to take some action, and put Biz Stone’s thesis to the test. It’s on this matter that I’m asking for your help.

I’m going to call this: My Philanthromarketing Plan

My Philanthromarketing Plan
For every appointment I book with somebody who wants to review a component of their financial plan, I will match their donation to the Mustard Seed Food Bank, up to $25. If I reach my goal of 200 meetings, that’s $5,000 for my favourite local charity (and some great financial planning for those who decide to take me on as their planner).

No Obligation
Let me be clear. To qualify for the matching donation, all you have to do is book an appointment, come to my office, enjoy a cup of coffee or tea (optional), allow me to show you my process, and interview me as your financial planner. Naturally, I hope you will choose me as your planner, but there’s absolutely no obligation.

But My Current Planner Is Awesome
Already have a planner that you’re really happy with, but still think I have a pretty cool idea – please send my name along to a friend.

What Do You Do Again?
For clients, I develop a financial plan that fits their family and their business, suitable to help them achieve all of their goals, and protect their loved ones.

In case you think this means you need to have a bunch of money right now (or fill up that jar before we meet), that’s simply not the case. One of the most satisfying things I’ve done this year is help businesses and families increase their cash flow, so they have more money to invest (be it in their business, their homes, or in an appropriate financial product).

What products do I offer?
–       Life Insurance – Do I buy term or permanent?

–       Critical Illness Insurance – Is it right for me?
–       Disability Insurance – Am I protected?
–       Group Benefit Plans – Do my employees get great benefits? Am I paying too much for my current plan? Am I getting service with my current plan?
–       Mortgages and Home Equity Lines of Credit
–       Banking Products – RRSP Loans, GICs, etc.
–       RRSPs, TFSAs and RESPs – What priority should I assign to these?
–       Over 400 Investors Group and partner managed funds, in addition to 1000’s of third-party mutual funds – Which investments are right for me?
–       Full Service Brokerage

How’s that for tip of the iceberg. There are many products in the financial world. The question is – what’s right for your situation?

If you’re still reading… thank you! I’m working with a great assistant, Rachelle Rey (and asked her to follow-up with you next week).

It’s been a privilege to help bring financial security to many families and businesses. Is it worth 45 minutes of your time to see if I can help you too?

Thanks for your time,

Paul Holmes
Consultant

Investors Group Financial Services Inc.
www.investorsgroup.com/en/paul.holmes/home
www.linkedin.com/in/tpholmes
Cell
250-704-9556 | Office 250-727-9191

Do you have a friend, family member or colleague that I might be able to help out? I’d truly appreciate the introduction!

-Kelly Marshall,
Director of Communications,
Sector Learning Solutions

Leave a Reply

